How do I actually watch something that i downloaded from Utorrent?

Pete: How do I actually watch something that i downloaded from Utorrent?
Okay, so I downloaded a movie via Utorrent. It’s 100% complete but when I open it, trying to use Windows Media Player, all I get is the audio. Could it be that I downloaded a file containing just audio or is it more likely that WMP just does not recognize the format? Please help with a detailed answer if possible, although I’m open to any kind of answer.
Thank you all so much! The problem was that WMP couldn’t read it. VLC media player works just fine! This is the first time I used Yahoo Answers and it Effin ROCKS! THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH!

Reply::

🙂 Wreckless
Yeah im guessing so, get something called VLC Media Player ; its like a Windows Media Player except I think it plays everything

Give your answer to this question below!

7 thoughts on “How do I actually watch something that i downloaded from Utorrent?

  1. A torrent is not just one file

    the torrent file is a set of instructions for the torrent downloader

    the actual download is several files
    including the one with instructions for
    burning the CD or DVD

  2. you don’t have the appropriate codecs installed for that illegal movie you downloaded… but I can help with the codec part (but not the illegal part)… go to the link below and download their standard codec pack… it’ll install what you need to watch practically ANYTHING you’ll ever come across

  3. windows media player probably doesn’t support the file or you need a codec to watch the file. check out the error message and see what it says.

    you might want to try installing the k-lite codec pack, that should make it work.
    –//—.free-codecs—/download_soft.php?d=3612&s=95

    if all else fails, get VLC player

  4. Unless your file size is tiny, you most likely have both audio and video components. This said, WMP does not support a wide variety of codecs and this is why, I’m assuming you’re only getting the audio (b/c it is usually mp3 which it recognizes). The easiest thing to is check out “VLC Media Player”. I’ve been using it for a long time now and I haven’t found a single movie that it can’t play. Hope it works out!

  5. could be a bad file. what type of file is it?
    if its .RAR you need a extractor like winrar
    if its a RMVB you need a REAL player to play that file
    if its a AVI and windows media files will all play in Windows Media Player

  6. as said you probally don’t have the right codecs in windows media player why anyone still uses that I would never know.

    I have come accross this often normally it is a simple Divx file, so I install gom player and all is solved.

Leave a comment