How do I set up a proxy server for use with uTorrent?

Foolish Guru: How do I set up a proxy server for use with uTorrent?
I use windows Vista and no matter what I try uTorrent just won’t work. I’m hoping that a proxy server will help but I have pretty much no clue what that is or how you use one.

Reply::

šŸ™‚ Wyoming Rider
If utorrent just won’t work period, then using a proxy will not correct that.

You may need to check that you have the ports utorrent uses properly forwarded to your router. There are some guides showing how to do this on the utorrent site.

I am using Vuze and am not sure of the settings necessary for setting up proxy use but I would think it would be similar. You need to only set up the proxy for your upload connection (if u can). This way your downloading is not slowed by the use of the proxy.

Add your own answer in the comments!

2 thoughts on “How do I set up a proxy server for use with uTorrent?

  1. A proxy won’t work… If you don’t know what it is, what makes you think it will make it work?

    Anyways, you might have an ISP that blocks popular p2p ports…

    Change the port, and keep testing it until you find one that works…

    If you use a router, you might have to do port forwarding…

    –//portforward—/

    choose your model and port forward the port that utorrent is trying to use…

    Post back if you need anymore help.

Leave a comment